Home / News

03 Jul 2021

Nacho Perez and Agnieta Francke win the Nissan Super Stage

Miguel Muñoz and Francke keep the leader's jersey ahead of tomorrow's final stage

The Nissan Super Stage, the queen stage of this third edition of the MMR Asturias Bike Race, left us a new winner in the men's category, but with no change of leaders. José Ignacio "Nacho" Pérez (CDC Juan Pedro Trujillo) won the sprint against Miguel Muñoz (Ciclos Cabello Orbea), while Agnieta Francke (Team Farto - BTC) repeated victory, also on the same finish line located in the Palacio de los Deportes de Oviedo. Second came Cristina Moran (Villaviciosa C.C).

In the men's category, the same hardness of the stage has been selecting the race. In the first kilometres, a group of eight riders formed at the head of the field, which was soon reduced to four with the first three in the general classification. It was at around kilometre 30, on the first big climb of the day back to La Grandota, when the leader and current Andalusian XCO champion, Miguel Muñoz, decided to impose his pace and only Nacho Pérez was able to follow him.

From then on, the two riders understood each other perfectly and rode the race alone until the finish line, where everything was decided. Muñoz, who has the final victory in his sights, saw Nacho Pérez overtake him, with no time consequences for the general classification. First victory for CDC rider Juan Pedro Trujillo, who yesterday finished third after some mechanical problems at the end of the race. 

The leader said after the podium ceremony that he is "very happy with the result and the sensations" and that tomorrow "the tactic will be the same as today: to always be in the leading group, to avoid crashes and problems and to control the rivals". Muñoz has also made it clear that, if he has the strength, he will try to win the stage and finish in the best possible way.

For his part, Nacho Pérez commented that "the stage was quite hard and with Miguel we both rode together after he had started. In the end, we were able to play the race in the best possible way for me". 

In the women's category, Agnieta Francke repeated her victory, but with a totally different script to yesterday's stage. The Dutch rider was once again in the lead, but halfway through the course she had to take a break, given the toughness of the trails. It was then that the Catalan Marta Torà (Open Natura C.E BTT) caught her and took the lead for a few kilometres. Behind her was Cristina Moran, who never stopped believing in victory.

Torà also suffered the consequences of a demanding terrain. So, before the second and last refreshment station, Moran joined in the lead and with Francke they went ahead to dispute the victory in the sprint, which was won by the Dutchwoman. Francke's second win and she has everything in her sights to win the overall tomorrow. 

"My goal is to stay in blue and obviously I would also like to win tomorrow's stage to complete three excellent days. But today I also saw that my rivals were very strong. We'll see how we all recover from today to compete in the final stage", explained Agnieta Francke at the finish.

Tomorrow, last stage of the MMR Asturias Bike Race. Finisher Stage of 47km and 1,450 metres of elevation gain starting and finishing in Lugones. The stage is characterised by the two ascents to the emblematic Monte Naranco. A decisive stage for the final classifications that will put an end to this third edition. 

Standings NISSAN SUPER STAGE - MMR Asturias Bike Race - Elite Male
03:14:20 Juan Ignacio "Nacho" Pérez CDC JUAN PEDRO TRUJILLO
03:14:21 Miguel Muñoz CICLOS CABELLO ORBEA
03:15:39 Miguel Vallés CARES DEVA

GENERAL Classification -MMR Asturias Bike Race - Elite Male
06:04:02 Miguel Muñoz CICLOS CABELLO ORBEA
06:08:32 Miguel Vallés CARES DEVA
06:09:04 Juan Ignacio Pérez CDC JUAN PEDRO TRUJILLO

Standings NISSAN SUPER STAGE -MMR Asturias Bike Race - Elite Female
04:00:21 Agnieta Francke TEAM FARTO-BTC
04:00:22 Cristina Moran VILLAVICIOSA C.C
04:04:41 Marta Torà OPEN NATURA C.E BTT

GENERAL Classification -MMR Asturias Bike Race - Elite Female
07:36:35 Agnieta Francke TEAM FARTO-BTC
07:45:28 Cristina Moran VILLAVICIOSA C.C
07:46:52 Marta Torà OPEN NATURA C.E BTT






Official Media